DFW 'Stang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK...so the stock AOD converter stall is about 1700...you drive down the road at 2,000 rpm and here that nice Flowmaster tone. What happens if you change to a 2600 stall converter? Can you still drive the car at 2000 rpm? What is going on when you are in OD at 70 mph and 2000 rpms? How do you drive a car at a RPM lower than the stall rpm? Does the lock up function have something to do with it?

Can you tell I am new to automatics?

·
#4 Best QB Ever
29,339 Posts
A 2600 RPM stall converter doesn't mean that it won't move until you hit 2,600 RPM. It means (and I'm not 110% certain but I am pretty confident) that the converter slips (doesn't transfer every revolution from the engine to the transmission) up to around 2,600 RPM. How much it really slips and where it stops slipping is really dependent on your setup. So yes, you can still drive the car at 2,000 RPM, it will just slip more than a stock converter.

And as far as I know, the AOD converter locks up (meaning no slippage) in overdrive.

·
duh...duh....duh
9,543 Posts
The overall explainations I received match El_Camino's as well. Very good questions too IMO.

·
The token Asian guy
8,050 Posts
I've been wanting to read up more on higher stall converters. All I know is you can hold your brake and bring the RPMs higher during a launch. I'm not sure how yet but I guess it allows more slipping.

I really want to know too how it behaves under normal street driving.

... subscribing.

·
Premium Member
4,468 Posts
Understand that just because you bought a "2500rpm" stall converter doesn't mean thats where it will brake stall or flash. Every car is different. More torque will stall higher, as will the same combo in a heavier car.

·
Darkside
20,120 Posts
Jimbo said: