Easiest way to install Fluorescent Light in Garage? - DFWstangs Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-22-2009, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
LUCIFER
 
bjtheman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Aubrey
Posts: 5,462
Question Easiest way to install Fluorescent Light in Garage?

I want to change up the lighting in the garage to Fluorescent Lights instead of the regular one there.

I checked out many at Lowe's and like a few, but some ran off of a 120V Cord and some didn't? I'm not very electrical savy so I'm tryin to get some info in regards to doing this?

I'd just replace the old light fixture, etc with the Fluorescent one and be able to just flip the switch not have to pull a string or plug it in.

Any tips are appreciated

2004 GT Conv't

MODS:
FLOWS, 3.73'S, BASSANI O/R X-PIPE, ACCUFAB 75MM TB, PLENUM, AND VORTECH V-3 SUPERCHARGED


bjtheman1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-22-2009, 12:06 PM
Lifer
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,691
I just changed mine over from the one bulb to florescent lighting the switched fixtures are easy. I have never done one before and it took maybe 15 minutes. Very easy.
8742 is offline  
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-22-2009, 12:10 PM
Time Served
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 133
Installing new fixture

Yeah just take your old fixture down .Should have a white(neutral) and typically a black(hot)and a ground wire(bare or green).At top of new fluorescent there is a place to knockout a round piece called the knockout.Just pop it out.They sale a bushing made of plastic that will push in the hole usually a 1/2 inch.Pop bushing in place.If wires are long enuff they should come out of ceiling box far enuff that when you put new fixture right over the box wires can come thru the bushing and into the new fixture to hook up the wires.If not just get some wires and extend them.The ground will go to new fixture (usually green or bare) the white to white and black to black.Your ceiling joist can be 18" or 24" on center try to hit the joists with screws for installing.
BIGCUBES is offline  
 
post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-22-2009, 12:15 PM
Lifer
 
JimD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Haughton,La,USA
Posts: 14,152
Step #1 is to shut off the power, then double check the wire with a meter to ensure its dead. Then r2 the fixture.
JimD is offline  
post #5 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-22-2009, 12:42 PM Thread Starter
LUCIFER
 
bjtheman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Aubrey
Posts: 5,462
Great info, thanks guys.

2004 GT Conv't

MODS:
FLOWS, 3.73'S, BASSANI O/R X-PIPE, ACCUFAB 75MM TB, PLENUM, AND VORTECH V-3 SUPERCHARGED


bjtheman1 is offline  
post #6 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-22-2009, 04:14 PM
Old school 4-eye'd
 
Baron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Department of Redundancy Dept
Posts: 6,714
I put up several in our old rent house, and since I couldnt change out the fixture, I put a plug adaptor in place of the single bulb fixture and two doble floresent fixtures plugged into that.

Baron is offline  
post #7 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-22-2009, 09:03 PM
Big Rooster Racing
 
RuStYpNuS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: We Aint Cluckin Around
Posts: 1,784
<electrician

very simple install follow the basics that BIGCUBES stated and you should be fine. if your replacing a keyless light (one bulb that operated by the switch) then go ahead and purchase a small package of toggle bolts about 3-4 inches long. there is a slot on each end of the light fixture behind the belly pan that they go in. hold the fixture up and mark the ceiling, make a hole just big enough for the toggle ends to go through when collapsed and then its pretty much self explanitory after that. once you turn the switch off the power "SHOULD" ideally be off unless a dumbass switched the neutral side.....which happens so double check.

BIG ROOSTER RACING , we aint cluckin around !
RESIDENT ELECTRICIAN ...... AND WIRING GURU
RuStYpNuS is offline  
post #8 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-23-2009, 08:55 AM
Colorado Dreamin'
 
Chili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Clueless, Texas
Posts: 13,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron View Post
I put up several in our old rent house, and since I couldnt change out the fixture, I put a plug adaptor in place of the single bulb fixture and two doble floresent fixtures plugged into that.
X2.. Easiest and cheapest solution..

90 Bronco

When I get sad I stop being sad and be AWESOME instead. True story. - Barney Stinson

A lie is a great story that someone ruined with the truth. - Barney Stinson
Chili is offline  
post #9 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-23-2009, 09:16 AM
insert something aqui
 
junior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: grand prairie
Posts: 5,779
i just did this on saturday very simple like stated 3 wires black ground white power and neutral, only thing i did was go up in the attic and placed some 2x4 in between the 24 on center studs in a square to reinforce dont know if thats necessary in ur case but i did just incase

1991 lx 5.0

lil ol 302

Back In The Jackstand Racing Crew!
junior is offline  
post #10 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-23-2009, 09:32 AM
Here to stay
 
projectPONY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 2,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by RuStYpNuS View Post
<electrician
do any side jobs??

-carlos
projectPONY is offline  
post #11 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-23-2009, 11:04 AM
GROWED UP WRONG
 
Chopped54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: The Box Babies Come In
Posts: 7,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron View Post
I put up several in our old rent house, and since I couldnt change out the fixture, I put a plug adaptor in place of the single bulb fixture and two doble floresent fixtures plugged into that.
Yep, this is what I did as well.
Chopped54 is offline  
post #12 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-23-2009, 05:34 PM
Big Rooster Racing
 
RuStYpNuS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: We Aint Cluckin Around
Posts: 1,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by projectPONY View Post
do any side jobs??
all the time.....just fixed up Tenacious J off the boards with that fireplace outlet

https://www.dfwstangs.net/forums/showthread.php?t=403605

BIG ROOSTER RACING , we aint cluckin around !
RESIDENT ELECTRICIAN ...... AND WIRING GURU
RuStYpNuS is offline  
post #13 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-24-2009, 06:33 AM
duh...duh....duh
 
ceyko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ES BEER
Posts: 9,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chopped54 View Post
Yep, this is what I did as well.
Yup, no reason to do much more than this for most garages.

My '03 Sold.
ceyko is offline  
post #14 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-24-2009, 06:59 AM
Lifer
 
FATHERFORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Katy and Waco
Posts: 1,932
How much are cheapoo floranceent light fixtures running these days? Would love to put up about 4-6 2x4' light fixtures up in my garage..

"His tricked out trans am guzzles every dime he brings home"

2004 RC SWB F150 5.4 - Saleen S/C'd 5.4 3V
1979 Pace Car - Not the usual mods
1984 Gt-350 - Trickflow'd 302
1992 Coupe - Vortech'd 393
1997 Viper GTS - H/C and Giggles

Buy my F-150 Vortech Setup! - Link
FATHERFORD is offline  
post #15 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-24-2009, 11:55 AM
Colorado Dreamin'
 
Chili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Clueless, Texas
Posts: 13,881
I bought one recently and I think it was like $10 without bulbs..

90 Bronco

When I get sad I stop being sad and be AWESOME instead. True story. - Barney Stinson

A lie is a great story that someone ruined with the truth. - Barney Stinson
Chili is offline  
post #16 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-25-2009, 09:55 AM
Lifer
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Denton, TX Home of the Mean Green
Posts: 1,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chili View Post
I bought one recently and I think it was like $10 without bulbs..
where did you get it?

2007 SRT8-Grand Cherokee
2008 Cadillac Escalade
Got5onIt is offline  
post #17 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-25-2009, 12:15 PM
Googlist-Wikipedian
 
Hunt4m3x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: de_aztec
Posts: 4,814
its 120v. its not going hurt, pussy.

2005 Infiniti G35 Sedan Ivory Pearl Premium

2006 Infiniti FX45 Liquid Platinum

2010 Polaris Ranger RZR S Orange Madness







Ban count: 2
Hunt4m3x is offline  
post #18 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-25-2009, 12:36 PM
Punk Ass Newbie
 
Chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Providence Village
Posts: 4,554
I still need to do this.

At my old apt, I ran two 2X4 flourescent fixtures off the wires from the single bulb fixture.

My question is, how many 4' flourescent lights can you wire up before worrying about an overload?

Chuck
2001 Black Bullitt (For Sale)
2009 Black JK Unlimited X, M6, 35's
www.imboc.com
Rob (Tweakd) Memorial 3/13/05
Chuck is offline  
post #19 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-25-2009, 06:30 PM
Googlist-Wikipedian
 
Hunt4m3x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: de_aztec
Posts: 4,814
is a 2xt5 4' fixture powerful enff to light the whole garage?

2005 Infiniti G35 Sedan Ivory Pearl Premium

2006 Infiniti FX45 Liquid Platinum

2010 Polaris Ranger RZR S Orange Madness







Ban count: 2
Hunt4m3x is offline  
post #20 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-26-2009, 09:17 AM
How you doin'
 
STANGGT40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 8 Rib > 6 Rib
Posts: 28,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck View Post
I still need to do this.

At my old apt, I ran two 2X4 flourescent fixtures off the wires from the single bulb fixture.

My question is, how many 4' flourescent lights can you wire up before worrying about an overload?
if you're running off of a dedicated 120 volt 20 amp circuit, you can use 16 amps continuous. multiply the amps by the voltage to get the amount of total watts that you can use...(120 X 16 = 1920) so, on a dedicated 20 amp circuit (120 volt), you can use a total of 1920 watts. now, divide 1920 watts by the wattage of the lamp. if you're using a 4 foot t8 lamp, that would be 32 watts per lamp. (1920 / 32 = 60)...so, you can have 60 lamps on a single circuit. if you're using a 4-lamp fixture, that's a total of 15 fixtures...3-lamp fixture = 20...2-lamp fixture = 30...

now, if you're talking about putting them on an existing circuit, then that completely depends on what else is on that circuit. with that said, i would imagine that you'll be fine as long as you're not looking for 200+ foot candles or something.
STANGGT40 is offline  
post #21 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-26-2009, 09:18 AM
How you doin'
 
STANGGT40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 8 Rib > 6 Rib
Posts: 28,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunt4m3x View Post
is a 2xt5 4' fixture powerful enff to light the whole garage?
it's not going to be all that bright. two of them would work pretty well, though.
STANGGT40 is offline  
post #22 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-26-2009, 10:44 AM
Punk Ass Newbie
 
Chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Providence Village
Posts: 4,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by STANGGT40 View Post
if you're running off of a dedicated 120 volt 20 amp circuit, you can use 16 amps continuous. multiply the amps by the voltage to get the amount of total watts that you can use...(120 X 16 = 1920) so, on a dedicated 20 amp circuit (120 volt), you can use a total of 1920 watts. now, divide 1920 watts by the wattage of the lamp. if you're using a 4 foot t8 lamp, that would be 32 watts per lamp. (1920 / 32 = 60)...so, you can have 60 lamps on a single circuit. if you're using a 4-lamp fixture, that's a total of 15 fixtures...3-lamp fixture = 20...2-lamp fixture = 30...

now, if you're talking about putting them on an existing circuit, then that completely depends on what else is on that circuit. with that said, i would imagine that you'll be fine as long as you're not looking for 200+ foot candles or something.
Thanks Brad. I used 2 fixtures (two 4' bulbs each) in a one car garage, so I figured I'd at least double that. Thinking of using single lamp fixtures to spread the light..I had a lot of shadowing in the previous garage.

Chuck
2001 Black Bullitt (For Sale)
2009 Black JK Unlimited X, M6, 35's
www.imboc.com
Rob (Tweakd) Memorial 3/13/05
Chuck is offline  
post #23 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-01-2009, 09:45 AM
Here to stay
 
projectPONY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 2,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by RuStYpNuS View Post
all the time.....just fixed up Tenacious J off the boards with that fireplace outlet

https://www.dfwstangs.net/forums/showthread.php?t=403605
if you don't mind, PM me a ballpark price as to what you would charge me to run 2 220v outlets. one would be dedicated to my compressor. the other one is just for my welder. I have a sub panel box already in dedicated for the garage. I don't mind buying the supplies if all you want to do is the install.

TIA

-carlos
projectPONY is offline  
post #24 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-01-2009, 12:49 PM
Colorado Dreamin'
 
Chili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Clueless, Texas
Posts: 13,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by Got5onIt View Post
where did you get it?
Home Depot.. You can probably find them at walmart too though, and they may be cheaper there. I was just already there and bought it as an impulse buy.

90 Bronco

When I get sad I stop being sad and be AWESOME instead. True story. - Barney Stinson

A lie is a great story that someone ruined with the truth. - Barney Stinson
Chili is offline  
post #25 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-01-2009, 12:52 PM
Colorado Dreamin'
 
Chili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Clueless, Texas
Posts: 13,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck View Post
Thanks Brad. I used 2 fixtures (two 4' bulbs each) in a one car garage, so I figured I'd at least double that. Thinking of using single lamp fixtures to spread the light..I had a lot of shadowing in the previous garage.
Yeah, I would do at least 4 if you're going to be doing any kind of work in there. If you're just needing light to be able to see 2 is plenty. I have 3 right now but only one in the "car area" then one general and one over the work bench as a task light.

90 Bronco

When I get sad I stop being sad and be AWESOME instead. True story. - Barney Stinson

A lie is a great story that someone ruined with the truth. - Barney Stinson
Chili is offline  
post #26 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-26-2009, 02:19 PM
Lifer
 
The Sarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rowlett
Posts: 1,696
mine
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010006.JPG
Views:	972
Size:	22.2 KB
ID:	96103   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010004.JPG
Views:	1082
Size:	22.8 KB
ID:	96104  

If you can read this thank a teacher. If it's in English thank a soldier.
The Sarge is offline  
post #27 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-28-2009, 02:34 PM
Back To Normal
 
2001 GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Beyond the Abyss
Posts: 6,180
I have 4 - 8' 2 bulb fixtures in my two car garage and let me tell you I have no issue needing more light for anything. Hell if my garage lights are on at night and I open my garage door it looks like the scene in the movies when the UFO opens its door to for the first time.

Texan By Birth, Techsan By Choice.
2001 GT is offline  
post #28 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-28-2009, 03:21 PM
Lifer
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bagram Air Base, Afg
Posts: 2,092
We went with six 4" double bulb flourescent fixtures in our 3 car garage. I had them all put in the one car since that is where the projects happen. I may go in and put a few more in the other half of the garage eventually.

I will admit that I cheated, I had Milk's guys do the work for me.
sonic93 is offline  
post #29 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-29-2009, 08:14 AM Thread Starter
LUCIFER
 
bjtheman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Aubrey
Posts: 5,462
I ended up putting up one 4ft double bulb wear my old light fixture was, then I also got one that plugs in and put that one over my work area. So now with both it lights up the garage nicely

2004 GT Conv't

MODS:
FLOWS, 3.73'S, BASSANI O/R X-PIPE, ACCUFAB 75MM TB, PLENUM, AND VORTECH V-3 SUPERCHARGED


bjtheman1 is offline  
post #30 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-29-2009, 08:21 AM
Moved to dfw mustangs.net
 
lowthreeohz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hurst-Useless-Bedford area
Posts: 20,572
i've got like 6 pair of 4' bulbs in my garage. luckily when my old man owned the place he put an outlet every 6 feet on the wall, and a row of them right down the middle of the ceiling.

i also bought the "daylight" bulbs instead of typical fluorescent.. they look better IMO.
lowthreeohz is offline  
post #31 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-30-2009, 10:11 AM
Time Served
 
coors2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 795
i have 3 8ft 2 bulb in my 2 car

Quote:
Originally Posted by A.T.
i'll go half on a she male




[IMG]
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o200/coors2003/comic-funeral.jpg[/IMG]
coors2003 is offline  
post #32 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-31-2009, 02:15 PM
893
Lifer
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 16,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2001 GT View Post
I have 4 - 8' 2 bulb fixtures in my two car garage and let me tell you I have no issue needing more light for anything. Hell if my garage lights are on at night and I open my garage door it looks like the scene in the movies when the UFO opens its door to for the first time.
We need to do my garage. Only problem, no attic access in my garage. So we will have to be inventive.
893 is offline  
post #33 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-31-2009, 02:18 PM
Punk Ass Newbie
 
Chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Providence Village
Posts: 4,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beej View Post
We need to do my garage. Only problem, no attic access in my garage. So we will have to be inventive.
Let me know when you do it and I'll come help. I have no attic access either...probably run some sort of conduit across...something that won't look too bad.

Chuck
2001 Black Bullitt (For Sale)
2009 Black JK Unlimited X, M6, 35's
www.imboc.com
Rob (Tweakd) Memorial 3/13/05
Chuck is offline  
post #34 of 35 (permalink) Old 01-02-2010, 06:58 PM
IA2
 
mikeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 22,413
Easiest way? (yes, i'm going to clean that up later on).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 129-small.jpg
Views:	1072
Size:	45.2 KB
ID:	96197  
mikeb is offline  
post #35 of 35 (permalink) Old 08-03-2020, 04:33 PM
Punk Ass Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 3
Yeah, I did that last year when I decided to replace my popcorn ceiling with a concrete one. I have removed the old lights during the installation and replaced them with fluorescent ones. To do this you can take down the fixture entirely and replace a new fixture, or simply attach the existing fixture to an adopter.
Jeff Stevens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the DFWstangs Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome