what ammo to use? - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-11-2008, 11:53 AM Thread Starter
Time Served

Question what ammo to use?

im wanting to know what ammo would be best/cheapest/most beneficial to use to go to the range with for both mine and my wife's first gun.

mine- springfield xd40sc
hers- taurus pt111 pro 9mm

we're wanting to go to the range today to shoot them and i believe only place besides the range and various pawn shops that carry the ammo is wal-mart. also are there sites online to get ammo cheaper?

im new to guns and ammo so i'd need to know what brand of ammo and casings and whatever else there is to take into consideration. thanks

and also where would i get more magazines for both from? thanks again
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-11-2008, 12:01 PM
The token Asian guy

Walmart has the cheapest ammo. Get the Winchester target practice ammo. It's in the white box. This is also known as WWB - Winchester White Box. Sometimes you'll find CCI Blazer Aluminum cheaper than WWB. That's good too.

Academy Sports is your next best bet. Their CCI Blazer Aluminum is their cheapest. Most will tell you to avoid Monarch and Wolf ammo.

post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-11-2008, 12:03 PM
#4 Best QB Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5.0 beast
im wanting to know what ammo would be best/cheapest/most beneficial to use to go to the range with for both mine and my wife's first gun.
Best? Handloads. Cheapest? Handloads. Most beneficial? Handloads.

Hit up MidwayUSA.com or Cabela's and pick up "Modern Reloading" and "The ABCs of Reloading," maybe $40 for the pair, read them, and decide if you really want (and can afford the time invested in building) the best, cheapest, most beneficial ammunition.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DON SVO View Post
Women: vaginal life support.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-11-2008, 12:10 PM Thread Starter
Time Served