A friend sent me a link to the NBA rulebook trying to prove that Wade's phantom foul drive should've never happened. But he didn't read enough, and I proved him wrong.
e. Any ball out-of-bounds in a team's frontcourt or at the midcourt line cannot be passed into the backcourt. On all backcourt and midcourt violations, the ball shall be awarded to the opposing team at the midcourt line, and must be passed into the frontcourt.
EXCEPTION: During the last two minutes of the fourth period and/or any overtime period, the ball may be passed anywhere (frontcourt or backcourt) on the court.
I don't think anyone is really arguing that you can't pass the ball into the back court. I think the issue being argued is whether or not you can catch the ball and then go into the backcourt. But I've been at work all day and haven't seen any replays or anything.
the problem is, you have to establish yourself in the back court b4 catching the ball, you can't be on one side jump and catch the ball and land on the other side. that is what they are talking about.
BINGO!!! All that rule quote says is that you can throw the ball into the backcourt (which you can do at anytime on an inbounds at basektball of all levels). Once you have possession in the front court (which he did since he jumped in the air from the front court) and carry the ball into the back court, it's a turnover. The quote proved nothing.
2000 Black GT
2V with a fuel pump and some other goodies
Touched by the hand of a tuning god -- Mr. Wilson
I think the last two guys got it. ESPN just said it was a blown call. He had one foot in the front court caught the ball and landed in the back court. They were also saying even if you were in the air and momentum carried you out into back court that's a violation.