DFW Mustang Forums banner

helmet law

27K views 616 replies 170 participants last post by  dofollowlinker 
#1 ·
what is the helmet law in tx because i got a ticket by a dps and i showed him my health insurance coverage from my job and he stated that did not qualify for me not to use my helmet. wondering do i have to have the helmet exemption sticker to ride without a helmet.

#10 ·
If you are over 21 and pass the msf course, you can ride without a helmet. I have been riding for almost 7 years and just took the course last June. There were actually two guys there taking the class just so they don't have to wear a helmet. They did not care about learning any riding tips. :rolleyes:

#12 ·
Billyb0b81 said:
If you are over 21 and pass the msf course, you can ride without a helmet. I have been riding for almost 7 years and just took the course last June. There were actually two guys there taking the class just so they don't have to wear a helmet. They did not care about learning any riding tips. :rolleyes:
IIRC my Txdot study booklet said you had to have x amount of health insurance coverage and a sticker on your plate to ride wthout a lid.

#13 ·
#14 ·
lowthreeohz said:
State law says motorcyclists must wear helmets, with two exceptions for riders 21 and older. No helmet is required if the rider:

has successfully completed a motorcycle safety course, or

has proof of health insurance with a minimum of $10,000 coverage for injuries resulting from a motorcycle crash.

Only have to have the insurance if you have not completed the course is what they told me in the class.

#16 ·
I dont care how much health insurance you have...SLAPAHO.

must admit if someone is riding on the back for a short distance I let them where the helmet, they have a much higher risk of fallin off then the driver imo.

#19 ·
Local place to buy aftermarket clutch kit?