DFW Mustang Forums banner

Drinkers, please enter...

2K views 42 replies 29 participants last post by  copcar 
#1 ·
so im on this diet, well not a diet but eating better, and im working out everyday... problem is that i still drink like a fish, usually tons of draft bud light at applebees... so what do you guys recommend, cause i know i wont ever stop drinking...

thanks

#5 · (Edited)
I wouldn't worry too much about it right now. If eating better and working out is new to your routine, then you'll start to see progess. Once you hit a plateau, you can then assess what you need to change to accomplish more gains.

If anything, cutting back on the beer should be something you can do right now.

I'm no expert by any means, but I know for some people, making a drastic change in your lifestyle all of the sudden is a set up for failure. Making little changes over time makes it easier for them to become a habit and a new way of life. This is my case anyway. I've started a strict meal plan to lean out before and when I didn't see results quick enough, I gave up or got tired of eating like that real quick.

#11 ·
A shot of 40 proof liquor is approximately 100 calories. The benefit is that liquor doesn't have any carbs like beer does. However, beer isn't necessarily the problem. Beer has empty calories that your body can't use. Alcohol will be processed as sugar and burnt off fairly quickly. It's the eating habits that go along with drinking. Like the 10 jack in the box tacos at 3 in the morning, or the half a large pizza left over in the fridge. Keep in mind, you're probably gonna eat those and go to sleep, storing all those fat calories, or eat them in the morning and probably be hungover most of the day, not doing anything too physical.

That's my understanding at least.

#13 ·