I want linux - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-05-2003, 11:55 AM Thread Starter

I want linux

someone help me out.. need a good version of linux. With windows there are a few versions.. but with linux their are 100's of diffren't choices.

seriously... can someone point me to a good copy of linux w/ GUI... im not good with the command line in linux?? anythoughts??

thanks
trey
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-05-2003, 12:15 PM
¯\(º_o)/¯

RH9.0, command line owns clicking a mouse, but 9.0 is great if you want GUI.

www.redhat.com , you can download it, its free.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-05-2003, 12:17 PM Thread Starter

i like command line.. i can work my way around dos.. but get confused in linux or unix.

thanks for the page.. Im downloaidng now.. going to give it a try.

post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-26-2003, 06:51 PM
dolphans1

Quote:
Originally posted by trey85stang
i like command line.. i can work my way around dos.. but get confused in linux or unix.

thanks for the page.. Im downloaidng now.. going to give it a try.
I purchased a computer with Thiz Linux on it and I could never figure out how to dial up on the Internet with it. I even went to the Thiz Linux FAQ support page and I could not get it to work, after following the commands step-by-step.

I called all 3 Fry's Electronic stores and no one there knew how to do it. They said they didn't support the product. Say What? You don't support it? Hell, you're selling it!

Anyway, I spent over 12 hours searching all over the net looking for solutions and nothing.

It's really hard to get any tech support on Linux.

d-1
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-26-2003, 11:25 PM
Lifer

dont ask people at retail stores to support their products, for the most part they are just schmoes trying to make a buck.

fry's is the worst, that store is a shithole

i should know, i am one of those electronics selling schmucks.

adam