User may be editing post.
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
The way data works is actually pretty simple and explains a lot. When you delete a file, it isn't actually removed, or vanished. All data is written to a hard drive or ssd via sectors and clusters, these are marked read only, writable, or empty. When you hit delete, you basically set those sectors to "writable." Meaning it's now available to be written over. All data is fragmented into groups of clusters on the platter, depending on your memory and what you use your system for it can be more or less organized. Although your computer constantly reads and writes to that drive for such things as cache, etc. It is usually isolated to certain predefined sectors, so you usually have a good chance of recovering that data. All a recovery program does is query recent activity such as sector changes in large clusters, and reverses them to read only. So, unless you overwrite the sectors, the data is still there. Sorry for any typos, I'm on a cell phone.
Last edited by CJ; 09-17-2009 at 10:25 PM.