First Htpc Build - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-18-2009, 10:53 PM Thread Starter
Lifer

First Htpc Build

I am working on my first hptc build what kind of software are you running and why?also what kind of hardware are you running?thanks for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-19-2009, 12:02 AM
Strong to Quite Strong

I have been running a complete SageTV system for about 4 years. I love it and would never go back. Auto commercial skip FTW.

I run a main server in my office closet that does all of the recording and storage. Then each tv has an extender that gives access to the content. Its like a whole house dvr. It also does what Slingbox does when I travel.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-19-2009, 12:33 AM
Founding Member

Will you have a dvd collection on a hd?

93 Teal/Gray Cobra

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-19-2009, 09:59 AM Thread Starter
Lifer

Quote:
Originally Posted by fordracing19 View Post
Will you have a dvd collection on a hd?
I am working on one.
I just need to find some software to decrypt blue-ray
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-19-2009, 10:32 AM
is chilaxing

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverhatch View Post
I am working on one.
I just need to find some software to decrypt blue-ray

AnyDVD HD and tsMuxeR 1.10.6 to rip and a Blu Ray program to play them. I stream them to ps3, so I'm not sure what's a good program for the pc.

Edit: TsMuxer is used only if you want the movie only. If you want everything else, just use the AnyDVD HD and "copy video to HD".

Last edited by Rafa; 08-19-2009 at 10:46 AM.
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-25-2009, 11:21 AM Thread Starter
Lifer

Any one using boxee? And will when this be getting netflix support?
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-25-2009, 02:45 PM
Lifer

I am running Win7 with media center. I use Arcsoft Total Media Theater for my DVD/BluRay Playback and Media Center for my TV/DVR.