If you have more than 4 computers at home - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-11-2008, 09:16 PM Thread Starter

If you have more than 4 computers at home

get Windows Home Server! I have been using it myself for about 3 months now and I couldn't be happier. It will act as a central repository for all your Music, Videos, and Pictures that can be accessed by any of your PCs. It backsup all the PCs in your network and if your computer takes a shit, just boot from the restore CD and restore from a backup when the computer was working well. I built my own server or you can buy one from BestBuy, NewEgg, etc. You can pick up the OEM media at Frys and install it on any computer that will support Windows Server 2003. The only requirement is that you should have lots of storage space it doesn't need to be a very powerful machine (the HP server runs on a Celeron processor).

Again...I don't get shit if you do or don't buy this product just sharing the knowledge. I can post screenshots of whatever you want to see.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-11-2008, 09:28 PM
Lifer

Never used it but I haven't had any problem using XP with wireless cards to do the same thing. 4 computers here...desktop, garage, laptop, and one in the guest room.

FUCK Canada
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-11-2008, 09:33 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by ram57ta
Never used it but I haven't had any problem using XP with wireless cards to do the same thing. 4 computers here...desktop, garage, laptop, and one in the guest room.
How do you backup your computers?

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-12-2008, 01:38 PM
duh...duh....duh

I run 8 or 9 PCs - I'm curious how the backup thing works. Also, does windows home server interact well/at all with the XBOX 360?

I would not mind some screenshots of the things you find cool.

My '03 Sold.
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-12-2008, 06:40 PM
Lifer

Quote: