linux video player - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-28-2005, 03:01 AM Thread Starter
Fear the lawn gnome

linux video player

what is the best one. im still a newbie but since my windows hard drive took a dump and i have no windows disk. so now im forced to learn it. and it sucks not being able to watch vids. i noticed m player but i cant get the damn thing to install. i dled it. but like i said i could be doing something wrong. im logged in as root right now. but if anyone has any good ones i can search for post it up.

What you might call solitude is something i look forward to.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-28-2005, 06:47 AM
¯\(º_o)/¯

mplayer

post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-28-2005, 09:50 AM

Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by AbecX
mplayer
agree

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-28-2005, 12:08 PM Thread Starter
Fear the lawn gnome

thats what i figured. now i just gotta get it to work

What you might call solitude is something i look forward to.
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-28-2005, 03:35 PM
You lookin' at mah EYE?!

Hmmm:
Quote:
[[email protected] downloads]# rpm -Uvh mplayer-gui-1.0pre6-1.i386.rpm
warning: mplayer-gui-1.0pre6-1.i386.rpm: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 75aa026a
error: Failed dependencies:
mplayer-skin-default is needed by mplayer-gui-1.0pre6-1.i386
[[email protected] downloads]# rpm -Uvh mplayer-skin-default-1.4-1.noarch.rpm
warning: mplayer-skin-default-1.4-1.noarch.rpm: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID75aa026a
error: Failed dependencies:
mplayer-gui is needed by mplayer-skin-default-1.4-1.noarch
wtf?!

So I installed mplayer, but try to install the gui and it says it needs the skin default, so I go to install the skin default, and it says it needs the gui. Retarded, much?

DarkWolf
Graphic Design / Photography / Web Design
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-28-2005, 03:36 PM
Lifer

./configure

make

su -

make install