Running Linux inside Windows 2000/XP? - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-29-2003, 10:48 AM Thread Starter
Strong to Quite Strong

Running Linux inside Windows 2000/XP?

Hey guys, I am fairly familiar with linux and have had several boxes with various distrobutions over the years. However, I have never really been able to stick with it because as a student I use a laptop and so far I have been unable to get linux to meet my needs. Now that is probably because I am not knowledgeable enough to configure it properly, but all the same it hasn't been able to meet my needs.

Well I still want to play with linux and get more used to using it, but I don't want to do a dual boot and have to reboot to windows to do a task that I can't in linux. I am wondering if there is a distrobution that will run inside of windows 2000/XP like an application, much like VMware's Virtual Machine. Please let me know what the best way to go about getting a chance to play with linux but not having to commit to a change as of yet. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-29-2003, 11:11 AM
El Camino

You might also looking into linux bootable cd distros. I use one for my laptop. I didnt want to dual boot it but wanted to be able to run a linux kernel when needed.

2007 Taurus SEL - daily driver
1974 El Camino SS - 400sb

Quote:
Originally Posted by purrrfectstang
Umm.. what is the ID-10T settings?
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-29-2003, 11:18 AM Thread Starter
Strong to Quite Strong

Thats a good point and I have tried a couple of them so far, but my main goal is to not have to reboot to switch between windows and linux.

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-29-2003, 11:43 AM
¯\(º_o)/¯

Best way to accomplish that is to just format that windows stuff and put Linux on it

Whats your crutch programs with windows? You can get any office application to run in linux.