DNS Issues... Maybe? - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-27-2003, 03:12 PM Thread Starter

DNS Issues... Maybe?

Ok so I am totally new to this, but I think I have a grasp on what I'm doing. I have a domain name registered and I have two DNS servers to support it. One of them is abecx's DNS and the other is my dns server. Well, I needed a name for my DNS server so I registered host names with the same people that i registered my domain with (GoDaddy.com). I setup the host names (ns1.iyaracing.com and mail.iyaracing.com) and set them up to point to 24.167.84.56 (my IP address). So now I need to go and setup the DNS server and the POP/SMTP servers so that I can use them. Am I correct in doing this so far? The reason I ask is because I do not know if I have to put mail.iyaracing.com and ns1.iyaracing.com into the DNS servers (abecx's and mine). I would think not, because I specifically told godaddy.com to point those IP address to 24.167.84.56 - Is this correct? Thanks for your help! I really appreciate you guys taking time to respond to my posts, I learn alot from you guys! Keep up the good work!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-27-2003, 04:12 PM
¯\(º_o)/¯

Thumbs up Try it now, I moved servers, and I forgot to add your entry.

Under Construction

The site you are trying to view does not currently have a default page. It may be in the process of being upgraded and configured.

Please try this site again later. If you still experience the problem, try contacting the Web site administrator.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you are the Web site administrator and feel you have received this message in error, please see "Enabling and Disabling Dynamic Content" in IIS Help.

To access IIS Help
Click Start, and then click Run.
In the Open text box, type inetmgr. IIS Manager appears.
From the Help menu, click Help Topics.