Aircraft mech considering career change seeking advice - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-08-2004, 01:35 PM Thread Starter
Time Served

Aircraft mech considering career change seeking advice

I have been an aircraft mechanic for Delta for almost 13 years. I started right after I turned 20, so it is the only thing I know. They are closing the hub here, and I'm tired of turning wrenches. I need to find another way to make a living that doesn't require years of schooling or experience to get started.
I'm interested in real estate and have spoken to a couple of people in the business. One is a successful realtor who suggested I try to get on with a new home builder to gain experience and avoid the time it takes to build up a client base. I would also receive insurance benefits and a paycheck along with commission. This sounds good since I have a family.
Someone suggested being an insurance adjuster. What about the telecom business? Do you know of other fields or specific companies that I could look into?
I would appreciate any advice or suggestions you may have to offer. Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-08-2004, 01:44 PM
Lifer

I work at Lockheed, we have openings in Inspection. have to apply on line . 14.00 to 19.00 hr
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-08-2004, 02:12 PM
Dodging hurricanes

Im in the same boat as you I work at gulfstream.

02 lightning

post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-08-2004, 04:09 PM
Lifer

I did sheet aircraft metal work for 15 years and I feel your pain. Damned miserable hot-ass hangar in the summer, frigid and numbing cold in the winter, subjected to zinc chromate primer, MEK, and lot of other healthy substances not to mention jobs that were always over budget, behind schedule and as a result, had to work a lot of weekends.