detailing help please! - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-01-2009, 04:25 PM Thread Starter
Lifer

detailing help please!

I have never buffed a car before but think I need too, it looks like someone wiped it down with a not so soft towel, it is not bad or deep just can see the swirl marks on the surface...was thinking about buffing the car, but really just want it to have a smooth clean surface......would a good wash wish a sponge and wax work? claybar? suggestions wanted!?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-01-2009, 04:51 PM
I. Am. God.

i'm no expert.

but washing with a sponge is your first mistake. all the sponge will do is trap and collect the dirt and cause more swirls.

clay bar will help some but not remove the swirls completely.

the absolute easiest way to get this taken care of, is to hand it over to nick, pay him his money, and let him work his magic.

GL!

1994 Cobra Pace Car For Sale

Quote:
Originally Posted by 56482
only on DFWstangs...
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-01-2009, 04:57 PM
Punk Ass Kid

Quote:
Originally Posted by zachary View Post
I have never buffed a car before but think I need too, it looks like someone wiped it down with a not so soft towel, it is not bad or deep just can see the swirl marks on the surface...was thinking about buffing the car, but really just want it to have a smooth clean surface......would a good wash wish a sponge and wax work? claybar? suggestions wanted!?
I recently buffed my car, 1st time to ever use a buffer on anything, and it turned out okay, i learned as i went, i did not ruin anything but the end result was so,so i got rid of alot of surface scratches and etches, still need to go over it again and then polish the shit out of it..

If you are working on something important i would suggest paying someone to do it for you so you don't take the chance and ruining your finish.