Rotary buffer vs dual action polisher - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-16-2006, 06:35 AM Thread Starter
Iamwaxman!

Rotary buffer vs dual action polisher

I was reading the post about where to get a buffer/polisher, and although I am no expert, I thought I'd give my $.02 here for those that are considering getting one.

Rotary buffers are a great tool if you know what your doing and know when to use them. But it is VERY hard to get a perfect result from a rotary buffer. I've worked with SEVERAL pro detailers that detail $100k+ show cars, and even they prefer not to use a rotary if you can help it. The rule of thumb is to use the least aggressive tool/product to get the job done.

While using the rotary will make your paint look better, you will most likely leave swirls or holograms, or worse.....burn the paint. And when I'm working on a customers car, they always ask why I'm not going to use a rotary buffer on thier car. They figure that they are hiring me to do what they can't do(use a rotary). When in fact, I VERY RARELY use a rotary. Not because I don't know how to use them, but because 99% of the defects that I come across can be taken out by hand or by a dual action polisher(NOT AN ORBITAL) and chosing right products.
I always try and do a test spot on the hood or trunk before I start a job, and let the customer see what kind of results I can get WITHOUT using a rotary buffer. They are always amazed when they see the results.

Case in point....here is a shot of what a dual action polisher can do for swirl marks. These are very deep swirl marks and the customer doubted that I could get them out without using a rotary buffer. This is with 2 passes of the dual action polisher, the right product and using the correct technique.

The left half is what I did with a dual action polisher, and the right half was taped over(if you couldn't tell)

As you can see, the dual action polisher did the job VERY well!