Let me tell you guys this. - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 05-12-2003, 06:52 AM Thread Starter
Crash Test Dummy

Let me tell you guys this.

I have to tell you a condensed life story first:

I've always had a high body fat level (relative I suppose) but to me I've never been a "cut" person. All my uncles have bellys and are chubby. Only me and my dad and a FEW of my cousins have kept our bellys in check. Anyhoo I weighed 140 in 1990 when I graduated from HS then I went to the ARMY. (I never played athletics) I never got athletic until I went to the ARMY then I did everything. It is my opinion that sports help develop the side stomach muscles that help "girdle" your gut. If the lower back and side ab muscles are tight they help pull in the front. Yolanda my wife is a prime example. She's a B-ball guru and her belly (pre-babies) was super-duper tight and muscular. (It got a little lump now but it's cute) I developed a 4-pack while in the army(never could get the lower abs to shine through) from all the sit-ups while in the service)

Anyhoo, I've always likened myself to LLCoolJ. Basically I could bulk-up and be strong but, I never would be a lean cut person. Well LL pissed me off last year when I saw that he is now cut all the heck up.

Anyhoo again. My goals for the past few years was to make it to a 315bench press. Well I never reached it because I hurt my knee and quit working out for about 4months. The most I ever hit was 285. (Benching never was my forte')

Anyhoo again, Yolanda and I (especially her) had some success with a no carb diet (not Atkins but basically the same) but, we found that it led to binging and it became hard to stay strict after two weeks. (although it did work)