Need advice for work out... - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-03-2003, 05:32 PM Thread Starter
Lifer

Need advice for work out...

Let me preface this by saying that I know that I am weak, no need to point it out. I just started a couple of months ago.

I have been working out on the bench with higher reps. I have been doing 3 sets of 15 at 185lbs (although I can't actually finish the 3rd set without lowering the weight). Now I want to move to heavier weights, but lower reps. What would be an ideal number of sets/reps and at what weight?

Sorry for being such a pest, but I am new at this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-03-2003, 07:00 PM
Punk Ass Newbie

Re: Need advice for work out...

Quote:
Originally posted by 5111
Let me preface this by saying that I know that I am weak, no need to point it out. I just started a couple of months ago.

I have been working out on the bench with higher reps. I have been doing 3 sets of 15 at 185lbs (although I can't actually finish the 3rd set without lowering the weight). Now I want to move to heavier weights, but lower reps. What would be an ideal number of sets/reps and at what weight?

Sorry for being such a pest, but I am new at this.
Bench, flat bench? 15 @185 for 3 sets is not bad. I hope there is more to your workout than this though. You are asking for ideal reps and weights...it will vary from person to person. What are your goals and current stats.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-03-2003, 10:46 PM Thread Starter
Lifer

Re: Re: Need advice for work out...

Quote:
Originally posted by wicked5_01
Bench, flat bench? 15 @185 for 3 sets is not bad. I hope there is more to your workout than this though. You are asking for ideal reps and weights...it will vary from person to person. What are your goals and current stats.