How's my new workout routine? - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-15-2003, 10:23 AM Thread Starter
almost ready to race

How's my new workout routine?

I'm a gym newbie and I recently started working out about 6 weeks ago and I'm pretty motivated about it and have a fairly consistent schedule.

I always play raquetball for 30-45 minutes before my workout for cardio. Cardio is my weak point but this is definately building my stamina up and I figure in a few weeks I'll start doing other types of cardio too.

Mon. Chest and back
Tues. Arms and shoulders
Wed. off
Thur. Chest and back
Fri. Arms and shoulders
Sat. off
Sun. off

I haven't been doing anything with legs yet although I need to.

I do 3 sets of 8 reps with machines and HammerStrengths and have the weights to where I usually need a spot for the last couple of reps.

I haven't noticed any increase or decrease in weight or size but my strength has grown incredibly. I increase weights 10 lbs. every week and can bench press 60 more lbs. than when I started.

I'm not taking any supplements yet but am likely to start now.

Am I on the right track here?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-15-2003, 11:02 AM

You're over the hump, which is hard in it's own right. If you're seeing results, then you're doing something right.

What are your goals? If you're looking to add muscle, then I'd say to start supplementation, especially protein and creatine.

Also, vary your routine about every 3-4 weeks. Like instead of doing chest/back, do chest/triceps. Another day do back/biceps. Try to work in your abs and legs as well. Within a week, you might want to this: (If you can, try to only take 2 days off)

Chest/Tris
Back/Bis
Shoulders/Heavy ab work
Legs