Alternative to Running - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-09-2003, 11:50 PM Thread Starter
P.I.M.P.

Alternative to Running

I'm looking for a Cardio workout that is easy on the knees... I've played baseball since I was 4 and most of it was behind the plate so my knees are pretty much shot and running is not only painful for my knees but my lungs in this cold weather (maybe its just me) I've been jumping rope but unless I've got music it's kinda boring and I'm not very good at it, and even worse when I start trying to mix it up and do crossovers and shit. In the summer I usually do alot of swimming for various reasons but its too damn cold right now. Just curious what all y'all do for your cardio routine.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-10-2003, 08:12 AM
WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS!

cycling, or spinning. 0 impact on your knees

We're Adopting. Contact us through our website.

http://www.theboyetts.com

You can also LIKE us on Facebook
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-10-2003, 08:20 AM
MFFL!

I personally like the stair stepper. My knees are fine, so I don't know how hard it would be on your knees, but it's one helluva leg workout and cardio at the same time. You might get bored, but I changed the resistance frequently, so before I know it, it's over.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-10-2003, 10:25 AM
Hired Hand

Quote:
Originally posted by mustang_marc
I personally like the stair stepper.
Or even easier on the knees is the Elliptical trainer. It's like a stair stepper, but moves in a fluid elliptical motion for less stress on the knees.

Raven 2006 Yamaha R6S

"If it has horsepower or tits you're gonna have trouble with it eventually..."
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2003, 07:57 PM

Walking on a treadmill, at the tallest incline. Makes your body work as hard as it would be running, without all the impact on the joints.... knees, ankles, hips, back.