need ways to lean up - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-28-2002, 09:23 PM Thread Starter
DRAMA FREE!

need ways to lean up

I have been working out for about 3 months mow and made it to an 5 day a week thing. Only problem is, my cardio isnt going as fast as the lifting. So, is ther anything to help speed it up? I run from 30 mins to 1 hour about 4 days a week.
Suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-29-2002, 07:46 AM

Are you going out and running the same speed the entire time? Doing the same workout everyday? If so, you need to change it up some. Try running fartlicks. If you are running for time and not distance, once a week go drive where you ran and write down how far you went. Once a few weeks pass you should see a big difference.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-29-2002, 08:49 AM
Hired Hand

It sounds like you are getting a decent amount of cardio Joel, but the more important factor to weightloss is your diet. You can jog all day long and burn 8,000, but if you ate 3 large pizzas every day you still wouldn't lose a single pound of fat. Calories in needs to equal about 300 to 500 less than calories out. That means if your body burns 1800 calories at rest for example, you could eat 1300 calories a day and lose weight without any cardio. Add cardio on top of that defecit and you'll burn fat that much faster. The down side to that is that fast weight loss ususlly means a good percentage of the weight lost is lean muscle tissue. Just take your time with the diet and make sure you are eating whole nutrtious low-fat foods.

Raven 2006 Yamaha R6S

"If it has horsepower or tits you're gonna have trouble with it eventually..."

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-29-2002, 09:11 AM
mannish boy

cut down your carb intake and try to cut all carbs in the evening...

change your lifting routine so that you're only resting 30-45seconds between sets...

Forrest