Bike guys - critique this plan (first century) - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-08-2009, 12:35 PM Thread Starter
UNFUCKWITHABLE

Bike guys - critique this plan (first century)

I started riding ~6 months ago. I had no specific plans... just rode for fun. My longest ride last summer was 50 miles (in 102* heat).
About 3 months ago I had knee surgery. I've been back on the bike for a few weeks doing mostly light rides trying to build up the strength in my leg/knee. In my few weeks back I've been tentative and very careful not to overdo it.

My goal is to ride a solo century by July 4.

I've come up w/ the 25 week schedule below. At least 4 rides per week with the long ride being ~50% of the weekly total. Shorter rides will be varying intensity, and the long ride will increase 8% per week with a few recovery weeks thrown in.

Opinions?

Also, the HH100 is at the end of August. Assuming the first part of my goal goes well, what's the best way to "fill in the blank" for the 7 weeks between July 4 and Aug 29?

Audentes Fortuna Juvat

Last edited by Strychnine; 01-08-2009 at 12:43 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-08-2009, 01:08 PM
wishin i had a fast car

During the summertime we rode 45(5 hours) miles around oklahoma and texas and it was pretty tough. i couldnt imagine riding 100 miles, but it would be easier if we werent riding mountain bikes. i would love riding a good road bike and see how well i would like it. good luck with your training, i can bet after the surgery it will be really tough. i had shoulder surgery about 14 months ago and it just seems like in the last 2 months i can really use my shoulder about 90%.
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-08-2009, 06:11 PM
Lifer

Don't be a pussy. Party it up the night before, eat some beef jerky during the century and fuck all that practicing. It's a bicycle, how tough can it be?

post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-08-2009, 06:45 PM