Bulking Up - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 52 (permalink) Old 07-11-2008, 10:51 AM Thread Starter
Resident Epicurean

Bulking Up

Alright, I don't post in here much, nor pay that much attention to what goes on in here. But, here it goes.

Those of you that know me, knows there's not an ounch of fat on me, other than my belly.

Over the last 2 months, I've lost a considerable amount of weight. I've been eating more healthy for the last 6 months or so, but my weight has just fluctuated up and down. Probably the biggest reason for my loss, is stress. I eat less when I get stressed. Yes, I know it's not healthy. But, I'm already where I'm at so I'm going to make something of it. I haven't really been exercising, either. I've been doing a half hour on the elliptical about 2 days a week, and that's it.

About two months ago, I weighed in at 190. I stepped on the scale this morning, and weighed in at 166. However, I still have a small gut. Granted, it's a lot smaller than it used to be, but there is still obvious fat.

My question is this. Do I need to step up the cardio, to lose the rest of the fat before I start bulking? Or can I just continue with the little cardio I've been doing, and start building mass? I don't want to build muscle under a bunch of fat, but if I continue the cardio is that enough to rid the rest of the fat in the process?

I'm 5'10", FWIW.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 52 (permalink) Old 07-11-2008, 10:58 AM
Resident Misanthrope

Location: I am sorry, you must have mistaken me for someone that gives a Fuck!
5'10", 166#'s? you need to buy a dress, not work out.

more muscle mass means you burn more fat. Hit the weights with light lbs and high reps, tone up, then bulk up. At least that is what I would try. Although, if I weighed 166, I would worry about putting on some muscle mass and not worry about a tiny gut.

post #3 of 52 (permalink) Old 07-11-2008, 11:00 AM Thread Starter
Resident Epicurean

Quote: