Protein/Supplement questions - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-19-2007, 03:08 PM Thread Starter
Lifer

Protein/Supplement questions

Just got back in the gym about a month ago and have gotten serious about my progress.

My goals for my body are rather simple: I want to gain muscle mass, lose a little weight, and just become more healthy overall. (Currently I'm 6'3", ~230, and I don't look fat but could stand to lose maybe another 15lbs.)

I am a full time student, living on a students budget and don't always eat the way I should. I feel I didn't consume enough protein to support my lifting. So I got some protein mix at the store that is ~45g/serving, and its recommended use is morning and nights while working out, or directly after a workout.

For my goals, should I Increase my protein intake?? Add other supplements? (I bought some Creatine, but the flavor I bought makes me want to vomit ) I also saw tons of brands of Glucosamine*?

I've lifted since i was 12, and am currently 21. I don't lift for max, just strength and athleticism. Any tips?

Thanks,
Taylor
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-19-2007, 03:40 PM
Rhabdomyolysis anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Studly
mix the creatine with some sugar free kool-aide. I get the flavorless from GNC. You should be taking about 215g of Protien a day (body weight-the 15 you want to lose). Skim milk is a good source since it has casean in it as well, which is a slow acting protein. The shakes you buy are a fast acting protien and best after a workout, but can still be taken throughout the day. Also, be careful about the 45g/serving...make sure you are taking a serving, which sould be about 2 scoops. I have seen the Body Fortress protein with two labels..one with 23g per serving and one that advertises 46g, but they don't say that is two servings, you have to read the label.
Good advice BS

Crossfit.com <--- no wimps allowed