Ok now for the next step.... - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 64 (permalink) Old 04-10-2007, 02:13 PM Thread Starter
Gone but never forgotten

Ok now for the next step....

After 2 years of good and bad times w/my dieting and increase of activity I've lost enough weight (went from 230ish to 155!! but hey... I'm 5'9" ) and am to a point where I'm ready to step it up and get in shape along with this weight loss.

Since this is my first time back at an actual Gym in YEARS, I'd like to find out a few things from you health buffs.

First off, I'd like to find out what time of day is best for exercising? morning/afternoon/ or evening?

I decided to start off with cardio exercises and equipement such as the elyptical and gazelle (sp?) along with kickboxing on tues nights and belly dancing on thurs nights. Is this enough to get me started? I know I'm going to be one sore bitch but it'll be worth every inch lost from this body too

Also, I have heard that carbs in the morning and proteins in the afternoon with a light dinner in the evening is best, so this is what i've stuck to (and it's worked but a lot of it was also quantity and quality of food chosen). Does this method have any rhyme or reason to it? I was given reasons for this but thought I'd ask a larger group of folks.

Any other tips or advice on food or exercise that anyone can think of would be greatly appreciated too!

Wish me luck!

MJ aka Kim

"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men." ~ Frederick Douglass
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 64 (permalink) Old 04-10-2007, 02:15 PM
not exclude

I have never been much of a dieter, but I can answer your first question.

Do your cardio first thing in the morning, on an empty stomach or light, light meal. Since your goal is weight loss along with muscle toning, you will be able to target energy stores as your source instead of what's in your GI/blood at the time.