Did my first submission wrestling/BJJ tournament tonight... - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-24-2006, 12:58 AM Thread Starter
Pushed to the limit

Did my first submission wrestling/BJJ tournament tonight...

When I signed up, I was told that there was a sport jiu-jitsu division so thats what I registered for because I have been doing stricly gi training for the last 6 months. Turns out it was completely submission wrestling. I was also under the impression that there would be 3 skill divisions so I signed up for the intermediate because I am a 3 stripe white belt. There ended up being two skill levels (beginner and advanced) so I got to go against dudes from my own gym who are experienced MMA fighters and high level blue belts. I also had the luck of drawing the first match of the tournament.

I won my first match on points 12 - 4. The guy got two takedowns on me in the first 5 minute round and then I shut him out the rest of the match. I pulled guard twice going for chokes and the gave him takedown points. All that did was piss me off. After that, I punished him by getting a single leg takedown, getting to mount and working him down into an arm triangle but the buzzer beat me.

In the semis, I got worked by a guy who trains at my dojo. I stuffed a couple of his takedown attempts but he finally single-legged me and ended up in my half guard. I kept him from passing for a few seconds but he passed and somehow ended up getting me an arm triangle (oh the irony!). I ended up tapping after I felt/heard some of my neck bones popping and started seeing stars.

It was really cool because my dojo only lost two matches where we weren't pitted against each other.

My wife was there which is amazing because she hates that I like doing stuff that might cause injury. She was a good sport and even filmed my matches.

Buying dogs kills.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-24-2006, 02:57 PM
Time Served