Taking breaks - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-24-2004, 07:56 AM Thread Starter
the green kind

Taking breaks

Say I lift or run 4 days of the week and then the weekend rolls around.. so I take a break for 3 or 4 days without doing anything.

My question is. Is it better to get rest like this? for a few days?
Or should I try to keep the breaks around 2 days?

How easy is it to lose muscle?

Don't want to work all week and then lose my gains on the weekends I can't work out.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-24-2004, 08:06 AM
Time Served

I am by no means an expert, but I will offer my workout routine for you to ponder. Basically I lift M, T, TR & Fri. and do cardio on the same days. Wednesday I train Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and wrestling so it is like an extra cardio day. I eat a very good diet M-F as well. When the weekend rolls around, I eat whatever I want to, and basically do nothing active (except maybe wrestle for an hour or so on Saturdays).

If for some reason I cannot make it to the gym on Friday, I will do that weight workout on Wednesday. I will still do my cardio on Friday, but no lifting. That leaves me with 3 days of no lifting. I don't feel like I lose any muscle at all. Sometimes the extra day off of lifting really helps me, or so it seams anyway.

Basically, I would suggest the 2 day break when possible, but I don't think that 3 days off of lifting will hurt. I would do something active on that Friday though. Don't just lie dormant. Sorry for the long blab. Hope it helps a little.
Brian

You can't put syrup on shit and call it pancakes.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-24-2004, 08:54 AM Thread Starter
the green kind

Thanks for the info Brian. Sounds like you have things set.. that's what I want to do... but have to change things to work them around my schedule right now.

Will you explain what you're talking about by eating good? M-F