Exercise Induced Asthma (long) - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-16-2004, 08:17 PM Thread Starter
UNFUCKWITHABLE

Exercise Induced Asthma (long)

I feel like I've been asking a lot of questions here lately... sorry

After doing some reading, I found a list of symptoms, and I'm pretty sure this is my problem.
  • Difficulty breathing 6 to 8 minutes after you stop exercising.
  • Coughing or wheezing (a whistling sound while breathing) when exercising.
  • Having a tight feeling in your chest.
  • Feeling extremely tired or short of breath after exercising.

Now I know I'm not a doctor, and I know that just because I "read" things, it doesnt make me an expert, but for as long as I can remember, I have had these problems. I used to play baseball year round. The quick sprints and stuff never bothered me too much. But any sprint over ~150yds, or long distance running would bring on these symptoms. Somehow I pushed myself through it for years because I knew I had to. I cant recall ever having regular asthma symptoms though (when not running).

My cardio for the past 2 months as been a stationary bike, which does not bother my breathing at all, even when keeping a constant 170bpm at a good resistance level.
2 weeks ago, I started doing some HIIT running. I do my running on in indoor 1/8 mile track, and when doing intervals i sprint the straights and walk/jog the turns. This lets me catch my breath again, and I usually have no problems.

However today, I decided to mix it up, and just run. Well, it didnt work. Same ole' shit. I felt like I couldnt' breathe well, and my chest got really tightand felt like it kept getting tighter after I stopped. If I try to run through it, I will start to 'wheeze' and it just gets worse.
I dont have a problem pushing my body hard, it's just that this doesnt feel like a 'good' pushing.