12V Issues, please help! - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-08-2006, 12:45 PM Thread Starter
Lifer

Unhappy 12V Issues, please help!

Hey folks,

I have extensive experience with car audio and installs and such. BUT I think I finally came across my match: My 2000 V6 with factory amp.

I recently installed an Alpine deck to replace the crummy factory HU, I still wasn't satisfied with the sound so I ordered some Infinity Reference speakers to replace the recyclable (paper) factory ones. While waiting for the speakers to arrive, I found out that even though my car does NOT have MACH460, it still has a factory amp, another reason why the new Alpine HU didn't sound up to par. The speakers finally get here and I decide "what the hell" let's run brand new wire (monster) directly from the new deck's harness to each speaker location to completely bypass the factory amp and for a slightly better signal quality.

After hours of removing carpet and interior panels, wiring, soldering and then putting everything back together; when I re-attach the new deck to its wiring harness....... NOTHING No power.

My question is... does the factory amp regulate whether the headunit get 12V power or not? Since there's no signal running through it anymore? OR is there a fuse for the power line that goes to the HU?

I stuck a test wire with a small light bulb on the battery (+) and the ground (-) leads of the car's radio harness and got nothing... just for shits, I tested directly at the battery and got light. Everything else on the car works perfect still.

Thanks in advance!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-08-2006, 02:53 PM
Lifer

where was the factory amp, unless you removed it it should still work. i know from when i was doing car audio some mustang had by pass plugs farther back in the dash. if it doesnt work hard wire it back in. does the ign. not work or constant?