cleaning a block at home - DFWstangs Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 08-16-2005, 08:02 PM Thread Starter
Lifer

cleaning a block at home

i dont want to mess with hauling my 94 block to a shop and spending all sorts of money to hot tank it. i also dont want to mess with taking apart the crank, rods, and pistons cuz im not experienced with taking it apart and putting it back together. what products can i use (other than brushes and simple green) to completely clean a block, inside and out? i want to clean the oil and coolant passages and the rotating assembly as well. i read that tranny fluid acts as a detergent.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 08-16-2005, 08:10 PM
Lost in suburbia HELLLLLL

well, unfortunatly if you want ot clean it right, you have to take it apart. if you start getting dirt and soot, into the oil passages or block them you just wasted your time. get a manual and take it apart and clean it propery. or just clean the surfaces, uses lots of engine cleaner or carb cleaner.

93gt boss block, 185 cnc trick flow heads, undisclosed cam specs, YS trim, saleen intake nice and shiny. car is spotted primer currently

05 honda accord coupe daily driver
00z28 new catfish moser 9in, pat g custom cam, ls6 intake, long tubes, built 6spd and much more.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 08-16-2005, 08:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderchicken
i dont want to mess with hauling my 94 block to a shop and spending all sorts of money to hot tank it. i also dont want to mess with taking apart the crank, rods, and pistons cuz im not experienced with taking it apart and putting it back together. what products can i use (other than brushes and simple green) to completely clean a block, inside and out? i want to clean the oil and coolant passages and the rotating assembly as well. i read that tranny fluid acts as a detergent.
Use Easy Off oven cleaner and a power washer.